An emergency meeting of the Coordination Committee of the Non-Govt. Colleges Managements Federation (NGCMF), representing all the 142 aided Colleges in the state, was today held under the chairmanship of Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina at Lyallpur Khalsa College, Jalandhar. The Committee sought immediate release of pending grants under Post Matric Scholarships for SC students from the state government.

 They said the aided Colleges were facing financial hardships and the non-release of the SC grants had further complicated the problems for the smooth functioning of the institutions. “The pending grants must be released in one instalment and the government should not dilly-dally over the matter any further”, said Chhina after the meeting held at Lyallpur Khalsa College.

 The meeting also unanimously resolved that the government must withdraw the letter relating nominating its representative to the managing committees of the Colleges which is a direct interference into the functioning of the educational institutions. They also discussed other issues including pending DPI grants, implementing 95% grant-in-aid schemes instead of 75% for the appointment of the teachers in the Colleges were also taken up during the meeting.

 The Punjab government had recently issued orders to pay only 40 per cent of the Rs. 200 crore arrears of educational institutions against the scholarship scheme for the period 2017-18 to 2019-20. “The total pendency of the grants must be cleared at the earliest”, said Chhina adding that the Federation was united to challenge the unjust and arbitrary decisions of the DPI (Colleges) in the near past which has jeopardised the functioning of the Colleges in the state.


The meeting also decided to open enrolment for the membership for the Colleges and the general house meeting of the body has been convened at Lyallpur Khalsa College on August 28, said the office-bearers.  Rakesh Kumar Dhir, President, SD College for Women, Sultanpur Lodhi, Dr. Tejinder Kaur Dhaliwal, Director, SGPC Institutions, Ramesh Kumar from SG Janta Girls College, Raikot, Dr.Agneesh Dhillon, Secretary, Dev Samaj College, Dr.A Garg from Hindu Kanya College, Kapurthala, Dr.GS Samra, Principal, Lyallpur Khalsa College, Dr.Mehal Singh, Principal, Khalsa College, Amritsar, Dr. Naresh Dhiman, ex-Principal, Doaba College and Dr. Dinesh Sharma, Principal, RSD College were present in the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *