Hundred thousands of farmers have been peacefully protesting against the three Farm Bills introduced in the Parliament since last year. Working as a benefactor for the affected families, Atam Pargas Social Welfare Council has emerged as a Messiah. 25 selfless teams have taken the responsibility for surveying these families so that employment and education opportunities can be provided to them. The eminent soil scientist and Chairman, Dr. Varinderpal Singh informed that three teams, under the supervision of Principal Nidhan Singh Jaikhar, Dr. Parampal Singh and Dr. Jaswinder Singh Brar, are currently functional in the city of Patiala.

The Chairman further revealed that the affected 19 families from Patiala have been surveyed and the process of providing financial aid has begun in the village Saphera. As has been reported, the parents of martyr Gurpreet Singh-their only son and a victim of a road accident during the protest- are in a miserable condition, mentally, physically and financially. They do not even have a proper home to live in. The family has been given an aid of 300, 000 rupees for starting construction of their new house. The Atam Pargas team will monitor the work until completion.

In continuation of their efforts, the Central team surveyed the village Lang of martyr S. Kesar Singh Lambardar. The team led by Dr. Tajinderjit Singh provided an amount equalling 19, 600 rupees to cover the fee of their school-going children. The girl child was also motivated to pursue higher education. Furthermore, the Atam Pargas has committed to continue supporting their education in every possible way. The martyred families were also honoured with books and mementos. A memorial for the deceased was established by planting trees. Those present included Sarpanch (Village Saphera) Narinder Singh, Sarpanch (Village Lang) Balwinder Singh, Ex-Sarpanch Baldev Singh, Kisan Union Krantikari President Rann Singh, Lambardar Jagdev Singh, Principal Nidhan Singh Jaikhar, Dr. Parampal Singh, S. Major Singh Nabha, Dr. Gurteg Singh, Dr. Gurpreet Singh, S. Simarpreet Singh and S. Jashanjit Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *