Thu. Nov 30th, 2023

Cooperative leaders supported by the BJP have reclaimed authority over the Agricultural Produce Market Committee (APMC) in Gujarat’s Botad, 5 years after struggling defeat by the hands of the Congress.

The electoral battle noticed the BJP-backed candidates emerge victorious, overcoming social gathering rebels in addition to their rivals from the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The voting adopted by counting was held on Tuesday. In the vote depend, the BJP-backed candidates secured a formidable 10 out of 14 seats, whereas a Congress-supported insurgent group gained 4, and the AAP did not safe any seats.

Dhirajlal Kalathiya, the previous Botad APMC chairman, led the BJP’s panel of candidates to victory, securing seven out of 10 seats within the farmers’ constituency and three out of 4 seats within the merchants’ constituency.

Among the 14 outgoing board administrators of the APMC, seven had been within the operating for re-election. However, solely Kalathiya and former chairman Jivraj Patel emerged triumphant. Joru Dhadhal, Kanu Dhadhal, Arvind Saliya, and Ganpat Vanaliya, who had served as administrators on the outgoing board, rebelled after being denied the BJP’s endorsement for re-election.

Unfortunately for them, they had been all defeated within the farmers’ constituency. Similarly, Suresh Barabhaya, a director from the merchants’ constituency who additionally rebelled, confronted the identical destiny. Jivraj Patel was the one insurgent to retain his seat.

The BJP’s victory within the Botad APMC election reaffirms its place and affect inside the cooperative management, whereas setting the stage for future developments within the agricultural market committee’s operations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *