Thu. Nov 30th, 2023

Counting of ballots for a four-cornered fierce contest for the Jalandhar parliamentary reserved seat in Punjab’s Dalit-dominated Doaba area, a conventional Congress bastion, started on Saturday.

A voter turnout of over 54 per cent, decline from 63.04 per cent within the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, was recorded on Wednesday. There have been 16, 21, 800 voters in 9 meeting segments beneath the parliamentary constituency.

After the Sangrur debacle, the Jalandhar bypoll is seen because the litmus check for the state 13-month-old Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). It has fielded Sushil Rinku, a former Congress MLA from the seat.

While the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bahujan Samaj Party (SAD-BSP) mix has fielded Sukhwinder Kumar Sukhi, the BJP has given the ticket to Akali turncoat and former legislator Inder Iqbal Singh Atwal.

A complete of 19 candidates are within the fray.

Deputy Commissioner Jaspreet Singh mentioned for the poll depend 20 counting groups, comprising one counting observer, one assistant, and one micro-observer have been deployed at every counting centre.

The bypoll is necessitated with the loss of life of Congress MP Santokh Chaudhary attributable to a coronary heart assault whereas participating within the Punjab leg of the Bharat Jodo Yatra of get together chief Rahul Gandhi in January.

The Congress, with which the seat remained undefeated since 1999, has fielded Chaudhary’s widow Karamjit Kaur because the candidate,

In June 2022, AAP had witnessed a significant setback when SAD (Amritsar)’s Simranjit Singh Mann gained the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat after defeating his nearest rival, AAP’s Gurmail Singh, by a slender margin.

The Sangrur constituency was as soon as a stronghold of AAP. Bhagwant Mann had represented this seat twice — 2014 and 2019.

He had vacated the seat after profitable the Assembly election in February 2022 from Dhuri and have become the Chief Minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *