Senior Congress leaders in Karnataka, who’re being provided the Speaker’s put up within the new Assembly, are unwilling to take the accountability, sources have stated, including {that a} worry of jinx surrounds the put up.

Series of leaders who grew to become Speakers in Karnataka have misplaced elections and their political careers ended. The jinx continued with the defeat of Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri, the previous Speaker within the ruling BJP authorities. His defeat shocked the social gathering and Kageri was distraught because the defeat had raised the query on his strengths as a robust chief.

Political consultants preserve that since 2004, whoever sat on the coveted put up have suffered extreme setbacks of their political careers.

Krishna from Ok.R. Pet constituency, who was the Speaker in S.M. Krishna-led Congress authorities in 2004 misplaced the election in 2008.

Senior Congressman Kagodu Thimmappa, who donned the function of Speaker in 2013 misplaced subsequent elections in 2018. Ok.B. Koliwad, 5 time period member of meeting, who was speaker in 2016 misplaced common elections in 2018 and in addition misplaced by-polls in 2019.

Rameshkumar, who was the speaker in Congress – JD(S) authorities in 2018, misplaced election within the May 10 election.

Congress social gathering is discovering it tough to persuade seniors for the put up. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah had introduced that veteran Congress chief R.V. Deshpande will develop into professional rata Speaker and new speaker could be elected within the three-day maiden session ranging from Monday.

Sources in Congress stated that Dr. G. Parameshwara right away rejected the supply and was made a cupboard minister. The social gathering is considering to make anyone from the seniors like T.B. Jayachandra, H.Ok. Patil, B.R. Patil and Y.N. Gopalakrishna as speaker. None of them, nonetheless, have an interest, sources stated.

Jayachandra, who had misplaced his seat to BJP in 2019 bypolls, had emerged victorious this time. H.Ok. Patil is a distinguished Lingayat chief from Gadag, and is taken into account for plum cupboard berth. And so is B.R. Patil from the Aland constituency.

Former CM Jagadish Shettar and senior BJP chief Ok.G. Bopaiah, who have been the audio system within the BJP authorities in Karnataka, misplaced within the lately concluded Assembly polls, thereby going through setbacks of their political careers.

All the leaders, who’re �being provided the put up, are sustaining that they would favor to stay MLAs quite than develop into the Speaker, Congress sources stated.

Eying plum cupboard berths apart from Speaker is among the motive, however primarily it’s the worry of jinx that’s seeing them refuse the accountability, sources stated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *