The authorities has fashioned a eight member committee to look at ‘One Nation, One election’ with former President Ram Nath Kovind as its chairman and Home Minister Amit Shah and others as its member.

The authorities mentioned that an eight-member committee has been constituted to look at ‘One nation, One election’.

It mentioned that Kovind has been appointed as Chairman of the committee whereas Shah, Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Former Rajya Sabha LoP Ghulam Nabi Azad, and others have been appointed because the members of the committee.

Former chairman of the fifteenth Finance Commission N.Ok Singh, former Secy General of Lok Sabha Subhash Kashyap Senior advocate Harish Salve and former Chief avigilance Commissioner Sanjay Kothari are the opposite names a part of the eight member panel.

The committee will look into the feasibility of holding not solely Lok Sabha and meeting elections concurrently, but additionally elections to municipalities and panchayats, in response to the gazette notification.

The committee will analyse and suggest potential options linked to simultaneous elections if there’s a hung home, no-confidence movement, defection, or any such different occasion.

A single electoral roll and identification card for voters legitimate for the nationwide, state, civic physique and panchayat elections might be explored, the federal government mentioned within the notification.

The BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi on many events have made statements on the necessity for ‘One Nation, One Election’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *