The Dharam Prachar Committee of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) organized Kavishari (ballad poetry singing) Competition dedicated to the 400th birth anniversary of Guru Teg Bahadar Sahib.

The two-day competition of the children from Majha zone started yesterday in which 28 teams from Amritsar, Gurdaspur, Tarn Taran, Kapurthala and Ferozepur districts presented the life history of the ninth Guru through Kavishari.

SGPC president Bibi Jagir Kaur specially attended the closing ceremony of the competition on Friday and honoured the winning teams.

On this occasion Bibi Jagir Kaur addressing the children who came to participate in Kavishari competitions said that they should continue to preach the history of Sikh faith through Kavishari art and inspire other children as well.

Bibi Jagir Kaur announced that on the completion of these zonal Kavishari competitions, the SGPC would award the winners with first prize of Rs 21, 000, second of Rs 15, 000 and the third of Rs 11, 000 in the Punjab-level competition.

Apart from this, Rs 500 each would also be given to the participating children as encouragement. Bibi Jagir Kaur congratulated the children, parents and the Kavishars who helped the children in preparing for the competition and encouraged them to continue working for flourishing the Sikh faith.

In the Kavishari competitions organised by the Dharam Prachar Committee, Pradeep Kaur, Ramanpreet Kaur and Gursharan Kaur from Gurdaspur district bagged the first position, Arshdeep Singh, Jaipal Singh and Deepak Singh of Amritsar district secured the second position and Gursharan Kaur, Jaskirat Kaur and Simranpreet Kaur of Dera Baba Nanak secured the third position.

To encourage the children on the occasion of Kavishari competitions, SGPC senior vice president Surjit Singh Bhitewad, junior vice-president Baba Buta Singh, general secretary Bhagwant Singh Sialka, chief secretary Harjinder Singh, SGPC members Gurbachan Singh Karmuwala, Bhai Manjit Singh Bhurakohna, Harjap Singh Sultanwind, Bawa Singh Gumanpura, Surjit Singh Tugalwal, additional secretary Sukhdev Singh Bhurakohna, Partap Singh, assistant secretary Kulwinder Singh Ramdas, Simarjeet Singh, Gurmeet Singh Buttar, superintendent Malkit Singh Beharwal and Palwinder Singh, OSDs to SGPC president Dr Amrik Singh Latifpur and Dr Sukhbir Singh, in-charge Kartar Singh, head pracharak Bhai Jaswinder Singh Shahur, Bhai Jagdev Singh, Bhai Sarabjit Singh Dhotia, and pracharaks were present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *