Thu. Nov 30th, 2023

Nominations of 606 candidates have been rejected for Assembly elections in Telangana scheduled to be held on November 30.

The returning officers of all 119 meeting constituencies within the state took up scrutiny of nominations on Monday.

Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj introduced on Tuesday that nomination papers of 606 have been rejected. Majority of the candidates whose nominations have been rejected have been independents or belonging to smaller events.

The returning officers discovered 2, 898 nominations as legitimate.

Maximum variety of candidates (114) are in Gajwel constituency, the place Chief Minister and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) President Okay. Chandrasekhar Rao is in search of re-election for a 3rd consecutive time period. In Gajwel which is in KCR’s residence district Siddipet, the BJP has fielded its MLA and former minister Eatala Rajender, who can be contesting from Huzurabad, a seat which he received within the by-election as BJP candidate in 2021 after KCR dropped him from the Cabinet.

This time, KCR can be contesting from Kamareddy constituency, the place 58 candidates are in fray. Here, he faces state Congress President A. Revanth Reddy, who has additionally entered the fray from his residence constituency Kodangal, the place solely 15 candidates are in fray.

There are 67 candidates in Medchal, the place Labour Minister Malla Reddy is contesting once more as BRS candidate.

Only seven candidates are testing their fortunes in Narayanpet constituency in Mahabubnagar district. There are 9 candidates in Balkonda.

The final day for withdrawal of nominations is November 15.

The BRS is contesting all 119 seats by itself whereas Congress has left one seat for its ally CPI. The BJP is contesting 111 seats and has left the remaining seats for its ally Jana Sena Party. MIM is contesting 9 seats and backing the BRS within the remaining seats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *