Fri. Dec 1st, 2023

Polling has begun for the second and the ultimate section of municipal polls in Uttar Pradesh, the place over 1.92 crore voters will resolve the destiny of 39, 146 ballot aspirants in 38 districts.

The counting of votes for each phases is scheduled for Saturday.

Seven municipal firms (nagar nigams)- Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Shahjahanpur, Aligarh, Kanpur Nagar and Ayodhya – might be electing their mayors on Thursday.

Shahjahanpur will vote for the primary time as a nagar nigam.

Polling is being held for 7, 006 posts in 370 city native our bodies (ULBs), which embody seven nagar nigams, 95 nagar palika parishads and 268 nagar panchayats.

State Election Commissioner (SEC) Manoj Kumar stated, “All arrangements are in place for peaceful and fair voting in the second phase for which a total of 19, 618 booths under 6, 378 polling centres have been readied.”

Four out of the seven mayor seats which are heading for polls on Thursday have been received by the BJP within the final civic elections in 2017. They are Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Kanpur Nagar and Ayodhya.

While the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) received the Aligarh and Meerut seats, the SP drew a clean.

Shahjahanpur, the hometown and meeting constituency of state Finance Minister Suresh Khanna, was upgraded right into a municipal company in 2018.

While the BJP is confronted with the problem to at the least preserve its 2017 tally, the SP is focusing to regain some misplaced floor in alliance with the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), a celebration that has good affect in a number of districts of western Uttar Pradesh.

In the continued civic polls, the BJP has fielded 10, 758 candidates (4, 248 are girls), the very best amongst all events.

The SP has fielded the second highest variety of candidates – 5, 231 (of whom 2, 223 are girls); adopted by BSP with 3, 787 (1, 611 girls) contestants.

The Congress and the AAP have fielded 2, 994 (1, 395 girls) and a pair of, 447 (1, 031 girls) contestants, respectively.

Over 66 per cent of the full candidates in each phases of the polls are independents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *